A typical need that arises when a user is dismissed is to transfer all their metadata to another user into another group. To fill this need, the transfer ownership functionality has been introduced. This is located in the administration page (Figure 11.1, “ How to reach the transfer ownership page ”) and once selected, leads to the page shown in Figure 11.2, “ The transfer ownership page ”.
Initially, the page shows only a drop down for a Source editor. The drop down is filled with all GeoNetwork’s users which are editors and own some metadata. Selecting an editor means selecting all metadata that belong to that editor. An empty drop down means that there are no editors with metadata associated and hence no transfer is possible.
Note The drop down will be filled with all editors visible to you. If you are not an administrator, you will view only a subset of all editors.
Once a source editor has been selected, a set of rows is displayed. Each row refers to an editor’s group for which there are privileges. The meaning of each column is the following:
Source group This is a group that has privileges in the metadata that belong to the source editor. Put in another way, if one of the editor’s metadata has privileges for one group, that group is listed here. Target group This is the destination group of the transfering process. All privileges relative to the source group are transferred to the target group. The target group drop down is filled with all groups visible to the logged user (tipically an administrator or a user administrator). By default, the source group is selected in the target drop down. Privileges to groups All and Intranet are not transferrable. Target editor Once a target group is selected, this drop down is filled with all editors that belong to that target group. Operation Actually only the Transfer operation is possible.
By selecting the Transfer operation, if the source group is different than the target group, the system performs the ownership transfer, shows a brief summary and removes the current row because now there are no privileges to transfer anymore.